Newport Town AFC

Founded 1970

Co. Tipperary

B Team win Div 1B Calvert Cup

Download our mobile app to hear more about Newport Town AFC.

See More

Well done to our Junior B team who won the Div 1B Calvert Cup in Jackman Park on Sunday, May 21 following a dramatic penalty shootout.

Newport went 2-0 down early in the second half, somewhat against the run of play, but this young squad turned things around and goals from Adam McEvoy and Jamie Kavanagh saw the sides level at the end of normal time. Extra time could not separate the sides and the game went to penalties. Newport keeper, Brendan Coffey, was the hero, saving 2 penalties ensuring that Newport won 4-2 on pens.

Team: Brendan Coffey; John Barry; Jack Noble; Chris Carmody; Odhran Brett, Shaun Bonfield; Aaron Coleman; Ben O'Sullivan; Adam McEvoy; Conor Brett; Nathan Hartigan; Subs: Jamie Kavanagh; Pa Gallagher; Ciaran Carey; Darragh Meaney; Darren Gleeson; James Collopy; Phelim O'Reilly; Eoghan Flynn; Stephen McCormack.

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play